Post your ideas, suggestions and support issues here.
wawinst
    Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:50 pm

I'm a newbie TIG welder primarily interested in working with aluminum. I would gladly pay $100 - $150 and maybe more for a self-training kit consisting of pieces of aluminum ready to be welded together supported by a DVD or YouTube video showing how to weld these pieces together. Most of the popular joints and positions should be covered. Enough material should be provided to support three or four learning attempts for each joint/position covered. It would be nice if, instead of all the same thickness, different gauges were included to round out the learning experience. Biggest pain I see in putting this together would be cutting the aluminum pieces needed to complete the kit. It would really be cool if an additional package of the materials could be purchased for $25 - $50 to repeat the entire process for those who need it.
Again, I'm a newbie and don't know if I'm overlooking complexities that would make this impractical.
It's one thing to watch Jody do the welds on YouTube and another to do it yourself. Watching Jody WHILE doing it yourself - now that's the ticket!
Thanks for your consideration.
Bill
Everlast 250EX
RichardH
    Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:45 pm

Hi, Bill. Welcome to the forum.

That's an interesting suggestion. For practice, I buy random cutoffs from the scrap bin at a local metal supply shop, but I'm sure a lot of folks don't have one of those handy. There's probably a small business opportunity to package up practice pieces, if the shipping cost can be managed.

Cheers,
Richard
Grinding discs... still my #1 consumable!
wawinst
    Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:50 pm