Discussion about tradeschools, techschools, universities and other programs.
unclephaze
    Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:18 pm

I am currently finishing up an associates degree in welding technology from Illinois Central College. I am looking to add to this degree, and earn a bachelors in welding engineering but I am looking for feedback on what schools around the country that you know of, that have good or not so good programs, as far as preparing you for the job.I have been working full time as a production MIG welder for the past two years while going to school. I am nineteen years old and i love the hard, honest work of welding, but i feel that 20, 30, 40 years down the road i may appreciate having a job that pays a little better while not wearing my body quite so much. thanks for all your input, Alex.
BDoubleU

Congratulations on your accomplishments! Education with practical, hands-on experience is a great combination for success. It sounds like you have a strong work ethic, are technically minded and want to continue learning - which is a great attitude!

Earning a Bachelors degree in welding can lead to a variety of career opportunities - espcially if you're good. WE's can also earn a decent living - because they're "in demand." That's partly because welding engineering is a specialized program that's quite costly to operate. Of the schools that offer a BS degree in the field of welding, each has their own strength. Here's a few to research:

1. Ferris State University - Big Rapids, MI
2. Ohio State University - Columbus, OH (may not accept transfer students, 4 year program required)
3. Weber State University - Ogden, UT
4. LeTourneau University - Longview, TX
5. PennState University - State College, PA