Discussion about tradeschools, techschools, universities and other programs.
Cdharris1989
    Wed Apr 22, 2015 6:53 pm

Whats up guys. I am currently a structural welder right now on a job that could last another month or two, maybe even a few months longer. I am proficient with smaw,fcaw, and gmaw when it comes to tplate/bevel plate tests. I can do smaw pipe and more than likely fcaw pipe. I am really aiming to be sufficient as a tig pipe welder at this time because there is a high demand for combo pipe welders as well as good pay. I dont believe i am sufficient enough to lay a tig rootpass down clean and i believe i need to practice positioning.

I made thiss post because i need some advice from you journeyman tig welders. Let me add that i am aiming to stay on this job and attend a workforce developement course for 10 weeks this coming May. The class is only $750 for 3 nights a week and i could only make it for 3 hours each night. I have played with tig back in school and managed to catch on pretty quickly. However i have not profficiently grasped pipe just yet. This is why i want to do this class. But just how pheasable do you think it is to learn to tig weld pipe in 10 weeks, with only 9 hrs a week? I know i wont learn everything i need to know but gettin in the door will help. Do you think i would struggle in the industrial atmosphere? Do you think it would be a waste of time and money? There is not exactly a high demand for structural welders atm where i live so i dont believe i can count on having that job long enough to attend another 10 weeks...any adviceis welcomeand greatly appreciated. btw i am on a budget and buying a machine, bottle, tools and what not might be a little much atm.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

I say, go for it. The price is right, and if you have basic GTAW skills, the transition is not that difficult.

90 hours of coursework/booth time for $750 is a good deal. Is the course endorsed by your employer? That would be a positive sign.