Discussion about tradeschools, techschools, universities and other programs.
danfinn
    Thu Jul 16, 2015 10:40 pm

Hi all,
This is only my second post, and if you've read my first post you'll know that I'm just getting in to welding. I'm a former sniper and overseas contractor from 2001 thru 2014, I work right now doing epoxy coatings and epoxy grouting and carpentry. I am almost 33. So I don't have translatable skills from my trigger pulling days, and I'm new to welding. I've only welded a small amount with my uncle; a retired welder. I am very serious about becoming a professional, and skilled, welder. Due to having a wife and daughter, and being over 30, I don't have time to pussyfoot around. I'm looking for a welding school that's flexible and above all, competent. I'm in South Jersey and have come across Elite welder training and testing. Can anyone tell me if this school is worth my time and effort. I've been through enough tactical schools and courses to know that not all training is created equal. I would like to know if this school can prepare me for a career to the point where potential employers will take me seriously. If I didn't have to support a family, I would look into Hobart Institute or one of the other long, in-depth programs. I work for my father's company, so I have an advantageous amount of work schedule flexibility, but I still need to put food on the table and pay the bills.

Shortened version: I'm new to welding, 33 yrs old, have a family that I need to support. I have no time to waste. Is the school Elite welder training and testing in South Jersey a good place to get solid training for a career in welding?

Thanks to anyone who knows about this school.
Regards,
Dan
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Hey, Dan,

For "translatable skills", you could consider MIG... There's a trigger, and your motto could be, "One shot, one fill." :lol: