Discussion about tradeschools, techschools, universities and other programs.
BumpStick
    Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:21 pm

In Central Florida, Orlando Area there are 4 choices for welding programs:

-Orange Technical College - Mid Florida Campus... This is school is run by the Orange County School system

-Mech Tech Institute

-Southern Technical College

-Seminole State College

I have visited all 4 schools. I'm not a fan of the local county school system. Mech Tech has a shop that is more than just a welding lab they have breaks, benders, chop saws, and plasma cutters. Southern Tech has newer Lincoln equipment and the program is an A.S. degree, but when I was trying enrolling and registering the administrative side proved to be incompetence costing me extra money and headaches. Seminole State College is a good school. They are were I got my Business degree from.

Does anyone here have experience with any of these schools?

The first 3 programs are 15-18 months and include basic math, English, and humanities classes. Seminole State College is a 9 month program.
Boomer63
    Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:52 am

To obtain a technical certificate, just about any school is going to require you to take some math and communications. You will likely not be able to graduate without it.

I teach at a community college in Indiana. The first semester for the students is grueling and sucks. But they need to learn the basics, and the only way to do that is to weld a fixture over and over and over again. Very boring! But very, very necessary!