Discussion about tradeschools, techschools, universities and other programs.
sedanman
    Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:54 pm

I was really looking forward to it too. I had one week of formal training way back in 1986 and none since. I've been a hobbyist mig welder since and am now trying to learn tig and stick. I can't find any other adult ed program in my area. The registrar said they'd try again in the fall, l don't want to wait 6 months. I'm in Dutchess County NY if anyone wants a student.
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

That's disappointing. Your post says it's "adult ed", maybe that's why. Is there a community college course, maybe?
Dave
aka "RTFM"
sedanman

I am 48 and have a fulltime job. I need nights or weekends, preferably nights. I don't want to go weld on a pipeline. I just want to better myself.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

The sad reality here is that there is no marketing for such a course. The school will put it in their syllabus, but never once publish a poster or take advantage of the local NPR station. If you're not looking, you won't know it exists.

Steve S
sedanman

If you don't know exactly what you want and how to use it, most local welding supply stores will give you a cold shoulder and short answers. So you seek training and can't find any at the hobbyist level. I'm too old to go work as a journeman's helper sweeping the shop floor for minumun wage and the occasional welding lesson.
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

Here's an outside-the-box idea: call the Boy Scouts.

No, really. You might call a local merit badge counselor near you and tell him you're looking for feedback / advice / troubleshooting. He may be a pro, or may be a hobbyist, but likely will have some spin on the ball. Offer to provide adult beverages and see what he says.
Dave
aka "RTFM"
    Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:13 am