It is currently Fri Jun 23, 2017 9:45 am Advanced search

SMAW class cancelled due to low registration.

Discussion about tradeschools, techschools, universities and other programs.

SMAW class cancelled due to low registration.

Postby sedanman » Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:37 pm

I was really looking forward to it too. I had one week of formal training way back in 1986 and none since. I've been a hobbyist mig welder since and am now trying to learn tig and stick. I can't find any other adult ed program in my area. The registrar said they'd try again in the fall, l don't want to wait 6 months. I'm in Dutchess County NY if anyone wants a student.
sedanman
Ace

Re: SMAW class cancelled due to low registration.

Postby Artie F. Emm » Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:42 pm

That's disappointing. Your post says it's "adult ed", maybe that's why. Is there a community college course, maybe?
Dave
aka "RTFM"
Artie F. Emm
Weldmonger

Postby sedanman » Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:52 pm

I am 48 and have a fulltime job. I need nights or weekends, preferably nights. I don't want to go weld on a pipeline. I just want to better myself.
sedanman
Ace

Postby Otto Nobedder » Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:38 pm

The sad reality here is that there is no marketing for such a course. The school will put it in their syllabus, but never once publish a poster or take advantage of the local NPR station. If you're not looking, you won't know it exists.

Steve S
Otto Nobedder
Weldmonger

Postby sedanman » Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:08 am

If you don't know exactly what you want and how to use it, most local welding supply stores will give you a cold shoulder and short answers. So you seek training and can't find any at the hobbyist level. I'm too old to go work as a journeman's helper sweeping the shop floor for minumun wage and the occasional welding lesson.
sedanman
Ace

Postby Artie F. Emm » Fri Apr 29, 2016 7:25 am

Here's an outside-the-box idea: call the Boy Scouts.