General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
    Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:24 pm

Hey Guys,

I am working on a site right now with the job of building a tire rack. I have built a lot of things but normally, I build out of square tubing and not pipe. In this case, its pipe (woo) which I am not very good at figuring out angles and notching and all that fine stuff.

If you look at the picture on the right of it, is a side view it shows the piece with angles cross bars going down the side, I started building it yesterday and I am copying an existing one so I am able to get some help from that, my angles look pretty good and piece itself looks pretty darn good on my opinion but the fitups I am getting are awfull, horrendous. I am getting at least a 1/4" gap on both sides of the pipe and its just not fitting in like I want it to. I don't have pictures of the real thing but I might be able to get some tonight when I go back out there.

How do you guys notch your pipes at angles to fit in good?
Tire Rack.png
Tire Rack.png (131.22 KiB) Viewed 1007 times
if there's a welder, there's a way
John Chamorro
    Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:44 am
    San Antonio Valley Peoples Republic of Californy

Olivero wrote:Hey Guys,

I am working on a site right now with the job of building a tire rack. I have built a lot of things but normally, I build out of square tubing and not pipe. In this case, its pipe (woo) which I am not very good at figuring out angles and notching and all that fine stuff.