General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
marklackley
    Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:53 pm

Hi,
I'm a beginner welder and I have an auto-darkening helmet. I'm worried that I'm not getting the shade setting right (too light and I damage my eyes and too dark and I have trouble seeing the weld pool). Is there a helmet that I can simply set on "weld" and it will pick its own setting that's the ideal shade for safety and seeing the weld? I've read about "auto darkening filter" helmets but I'm not sure what that means. Please suggest a professional quality helmet with such a feature if it exists. Thanks.
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

Welcome to the forum. This helmet is a bit expensive but I've heard good things about it and there might be better deals on the interweb. If you haven't watched some helmet videos for some tips to getting shades down or looking at a chart I'd start there. http://optrel.wpengine.com/shop/helmet-2/e684/
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

I have Miller Digital Elites and an Infinity. Both have multiple modes, auto-on, and an "AutoSense" that allows you to hold the share button and it samples the ambient light, and proposes settings for you. You may still need to tweak them a touch or two. I bought the Inifinty recently from Indiana Oxygen on sale. And I really, really love it.
marklackley

Farmwelding wrote:Welcome to the forum. This helmet is a bit expensive but I've heard good things about it and there might be better deals on the interweb. If you haven't watched some helmet videos for some tips to getting shades down or looking at a chart I'd start there. http://optrel.wpengine.com/shop/helmet-2/e684/
Thanks Farmwelding. I'll look into the Optrel.
    Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:37 am

+1 for the Optrel