General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
    Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:53 pm

this topic is what prompted me to register after lurking. I know this has surely been beat to death but I could not find it in a search.

I am currently using a arc one hawk that I have been using for probably 10 years now, I like it ok with cheaters and readers but it started flashing me about 3 months ago and it is getting worse so it is time to make a move. I am torn between the Viking 3350 and the Jackson wh70 bh3. from the vids I really like the wh70 and will spring for the extra but with no way to demo them it is a rough decision and I am hoping several here may have used both and were able to make a comparison from actual use. I have demoed some millers and the Carrera from the local airgas but the only one that tripped my trigger was the miller weld mask but every time I went to pull it off I would pull something off of the goggles, cant remember what it was right off but it was irritating to say the least.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

creek
the heck with the duty cycle on the welder, tell me about the duty cycle on that grinder !!
electrode
    Wed Nov 02, 2016 5:02 pm

I still have my Miller Digital Elite and a few cheapos from Harbor Freight for backup and when the wife wants to watch, but it seems I read a lot about getting the OPTREL brand. When my Miller bites the dust I think that is the direction I am heading although I really like my Miller. Others will chime in on specifics. That said, the Viking looks like a good choice too although I have no experience with it. It has 6-13 shade adjustment where the Jackson has 9-13. I know the feeling using a cheater lens and wearing reading glasses at the same time. I have some stronger cheaters but then I have to put on the readers when I pull the hood open so I found a happy medium. :D