General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
joroberts
    Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:41 pm

I am buying a new multi-process welder for my home shop. I’m an under-experienced hobbyist, but plan on a lot of practice to be proficient. I would like your opinion of the two machines that I’m thinking about.
I’m looking at the Lincoln PowerMIG 210 MP, and the Everlast Power MTS211Si.
The Everlast has a little better duty cycle, and comes with a TIG gun, but the Lincoln is American made, and service would be more readily available. Plus, I know the Lincoln name.

What’s your thoughts?
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

First question-what are your plans- do you need tig and if so only steel and maybe stainless? Next if you can wait a little while you can see if lincoln has another rebate on their 210mp and buy it then. If you can't wait buy the Lincoln I don't think the everlast is worth it for the little less money. Lincoln has great reviews from everywhere I know.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

If you like the Lincoln's features, and the $1700 price range fits your budget, then buy the Miller Multi-Matic 215. Its $11 more expensive than the Lincoln, and has every feature of the Lincoln, but a stronger reputation. You can add their Spool Gun and MIG aluminum too. I have their 200 model, and for the money, its darn surprising at how well the thing Stick welds, TIG welds (DC only, Lift Arc) and MIG welds. I've used it in all 4 modes on both 240/120 power and it really impresses me.

If you want versatility and ease, these types of boxes for Hobbyists or DIY'ers and Beginning welders make a great purchase.

https://www.weldingsuppliesfromioc.com/ ... kit-951674
Farmwelding