General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
Jackstrw68
    Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:49 am

Hello new to the forum. I am a diesel mechanic by trade and have experience Mig welding. Typical truck shop stuff, lift gates, brackets, frames, light fab stuff, etc. I've never owned my own welder and now want to purchase one. I am torn between getting a multiprocess inverter machine or individual machines for each process. I like the basic Hobart 210 machine a lot and also the Everlast machines look nice. My question is how is the reliability with the cheaper multiprocess machines and are they worth the money? I like simple and reliable but want something I can grow into. I plan of doing a lot more aluminum projects at home besides truck and fab work. I use a Millermatic 210 at work. Thanks for any advice.
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

Welcome aboard. What your plan is depends on what you want to weld aluminum with. Mig or tig. If I was you I would get a powermig 210mp and a lincoln squarwave 200. That is just me though. They are both great machines.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
bruce991
    Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:31 pm

Have the Everlast 160 sth not an AC unit but does fine job TIG and stick for me. Also have the Lincoln Squarewave 200 and it does have AC and DC so I am learning to weld aluminum. It has been a pleasure to own and highly recommend. I think it will even do 1/4 material non critical of course not sure it penetrates deep enough for critical frame welds.
Farmwelding

I guess maybe for you the better option is get the squarewave for tig and stick and then a dedicated mig machine like the Hobart 210
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Nick
ryanjames170