General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
boodog
    Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:34 am

Hello all,
I am fairly new at welding. I found this forum a few days ago and have already found several useful bits for information, thanks!
One thing I haven't been able to find is advice on how to prepare old dirty metal for welding. I use old metal in "found item" sculptures (sculptures made by welding old bits of junk together). A good many of these old metal items are use car parts which typically have grease, oil or other contaminants on them. I did read the article about brake cleaner and will stay well away from that. Is there a safe way to clean these parts before welding? Thanks again.
anthonyfawley
    Fri Apr 23, 2010 6:58 pm

ID red or clear pvc cleaner or any degreaser. problem is that any good degreaser is highly flammable but does evaporate quickly, like break cleaner. after the piece is clean let it sit for a while if your that worried about it.

Anthony
boodog

Thanks for the good Info. I will give it a try.
gurew
    Thu May 06, 2010 2:54 pm

i would advise you to not use brake cleaner....and if you do, be sure to clean it a bunch afterwards with acetone and denatured alcohol
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

If you're creating sculpture, a wire wheel in a grinder will do just fine. Unless you are creating HUGE sculptures, structural strength is usually a minor concern. Artists tend to over-weld for safety. Just beat the rust and dirt off until you have shiny metal at your intended joint.

TIG welding is far more forgiving of crap in the joint, both from a strength standpoint and appearance in the finished weld.
pipes1004
    Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:59 am