General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
clark
    Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:56 am

I'm new to welding. I've taken one community education class taught by the ag teacher at the local high school. It was a really bare-bones class. Now I want to buy a welder. I have no aspirations of becoming certified or using it to make a living. I'll be doing mostly yard art type sculpture. But I think I would like something that is versitile enough so that I can use a variety of materials. And lets assume that I'm capable enough that ease of learning or ease of use is not a big issue. And let's also assume that I should buy more machine than I think I need at first.

I've been poking around several forums, so I've read just about all there is to say about buy American vs buy foreign, so I would rather not be lectured about that issue. At this point I'm open to American or foreign, with a definite leaning toward American, if I can afford to get what I decide I want.

So, if I can buy only one machine, what should it be? TIG, MIG, stick or a combo machine (I'd really like a plasma cutter, also)?

And should I also try to learn oxy/acetylene welding? Or is it just completely out of date for most uses?

Are there any good places to look for used equipment?

Thanks.
Wobulate
    Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:30 am

clark,

27 years ago I bought my first welder, it was (and still is) a Miller Thunderbolt AC Stick (SMAW) welder. I used this welder to build my shop infrastructure. I built a welding table, bench grinder pedestal, press brake stand, handles, and welding tools for holding things in place and countless other items. When you want to weld a different type of metal, just change the rod. Of course there are limitations, but for general welding the old "BUZZ-BOX" will work when others fail, and outdoors there is no equal (IMO).