It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:55 pm Advanced search

Welding Ductile Iron Shipping Container Twistlock to Steel

General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.

Welding Ductile Iron Shipping Container Twistlock to Steel

Postby NF6X » Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:24 pm

HI! I'm a real beginner at welding, and I hope that y'all won't mind my very noobish question. I don't have any formal training, and so far I have only done oxy-acetylene torch welding on steel.

I'd like to mount a carport cover between two shipping containers to make a covered area between them. Rather than bolting or welding directly to the containers, I think that I would like to mount the cover to rails attached to the containers with upside-down standard shipping container twistlocks.

I've found a few sources for this style of deck-mounted twistlock:

http://seabox.com/products/detail/SB147 ... -twistlock

They're said to be weldable, though I have also found pictures online of them slipped into dovetail mounts, presumably to make them easier to replace. Here's a picture of a dovetail mount that I found in an Alibaba listing:

Container-dovetail-twistlock.jpg_220x220.jpg
Dovetail mount picture from Alibaba
Container-dovetail-twistlock.jpg_220x220.jpg (27.12 KiB) Viewed 218 times

I think that using dovetail mounts would be overkill for my application, unless they're really needed for weldability.

The spec sheet for the twistlock I linked to above states that the body is ductile iron. So, that leads me to my total noob question: What do I need to know in order to successfully weld mild steel stock to these things, or alternately, should I approach this a different way?

Those twistlocks also appear to be available already welded to bolt-down mounting plates, but I don't know how much those cost, and I presume that they would cost a lot more than random surplus twistlocks.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and advice.
NF6X