General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
    Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:58 pm

Help! I'm a noob, and totally new to auto darkening hoods...and I'm a little afraid I've just burned my eyes.

Was in the garage working on a little project this morning. Like a complete dumb@$$, I was using grind mode on my hood, then forgot to switch back to weld mode before sparking and arc. Total exposure to my eyes was probably less than 2 seconds. Am I gonna be in pain in a little while?

Red
God Bless Our Troops and Their Families! To all Veterans and Active Duty Military Men and Women...Thank You For Your Service!

Hobart Handler 210 MVP
    Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:49 am

You will most likely be ok.
Some people are more sensitive than others but the lens filters most of the UV even in grind mode.
homeboy
    Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:52 pm

I have had lots of flashes and never hurt a thing. Some people are more sensitive and get a reaction for a bit. A fellow I went to shop class with many years ago was down for a bit with I think tea bags on his eyes and recovered fine. He's been driving truck for close to 50 yrs with no problems. Don't rush out and buy a white cane just yet!! :lol: :geek:

That is a relief to hear...I've never experienced arc eye, and am not looking forward to it if I've burned them.

Red
God Bless Our Troops and Their Families! To all Veterans and Active Duty Military Men and Women...Thank You For Your Service!

Hobart Handler 210 MVP

One more question...

Is this a "the damage is already done" type situation, or, if someone thinks they may have flash-burned their eyes, is there something they should do to ease the damage/pain?

Red

Hobart Handler 210 MVP
PeteM
    Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:28 am

Its like sun burn, where the damage is done then the pain sets in later. Similar to sun burn, the damage is based on intensity and duration. A couple seconds through the hood at relatively low settings shouldn't have done much.