General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
homeboy
    Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:52 pm

Asking for advice. I have a 180 Lincoln run on Flux Core only. I seem to be getting into more heavier stuff and have to run pretty much maxed out. Problem is the short duty cycle and waiting for things to cool down. Not a huge deal as I am a retired hobbyist doing my own jobs plus a few side jobs. It would be nice to have a mig for lighter material to give me a bit more flexibility as things come up. I am thinking of getting a bigger no frills wire welder for flux core only and using the 180 for mig (have the whole kit that came with the machine still in the box and the mig cart). The Eastwood 250 with 60% duty cycle at full tilt seems to fit and its a pretty basic machine. It fits my mantra- K.I.S.S. ( Keep It Simple Stupid ).I have done a bit of research and it seems to work decent from what I found if that's accurate. The big problem I see is parts and service. They only list 2 dealers in Canada where I am. One forum post said its a Tweco style gun that will take Lincoln consumables. Is this accurate? Has anyone any experience with this welder and if so what are your thoughts? The price is a fraction of the big name brands and this makes me wonder. With what I'am doing it's a stretch to justify spending 2-3 times as much for a comparably powered big name welder for basically light useage so that's a non starter. Appreciate any input. :?
Brettmm92
    Wed May 10, 2017 11:58 pm

Homeboy, I'm assuming your talking about this- http://www.eastwood.com/mig-250-welder-eastwood.html
I wish i could answer you question about the consumables, but I can't. It wouldn't hurt to email them about it.
I have seen people knock eastwood online. I've talked to a person with an eastwood mig that he really liked. First off, why wouldn't you let go for an extra 100$ for something so much more capable? (http://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-mp250i ... elder.html)