General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
Fabled4eyes
    Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:52 pm

Im a combo welder with 9years exp. The jobs in my area arent willing to pày me what im worth they all say "this is our starting pay for everyone." Im starting a family my first child is on the way i have a mortgage and im sole income. Ive wanted to start a small shop myself for years but it always comes down to the same old questions what will i build who will buy how will i stand out from other welding companies how will i afford materials and consumables... bottome line im tired of being payed less than im worth so i want to stop making money for someone else and go in to buisness for myself. Anybody got ideas or answers to my many many questions?
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Congrats on the baby!

It's true in any circumstance, you're only worth what someone is willing to pay. What they pay, is determined many times by your experience, certifications, and presence.

If you hang out your own shingle (and you certainly can) you NEED a business license, and business insurance (sole income, mortgage and new baby). These items will cost you a bit upfront, but SAVE you everything in the event of a claim or accident. Move your vehicle title into that business name. Keep every receipt associated with materials, tools, consumables, etc. EVERY ONE. Track your mileage. All these things can be deducted from your side business.

Meanwhile, take a job. Get benefits. Increase the number of certifications you have. This will allow you to qualify for higher pay work, subcontract, or independently contract yourself out. Steady pay is nice, but you can use it to keep afloat while you endeavor to start and build your own business.