General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
CLlant4
    Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:44 pm

Can someone tell me which would be better to clean out spatter in tight places and corners, either an air grinder or a die grinder? I'm typically using SMAW with 1/8 7018 and I'm also new to the marine aspect of welding so I'm still trying to fine tune my machine.

Any help will be greatly appreciated, because I'm not trying to waste good money on a my guessing.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

CLlant4 wrote:Can someone tell me which would be better to clean out spatter in tight places and corners, either an air grinder or a die grinder? I'm typically using SMAW with 1/8 7018 and I'm also new to the marine aspect of welding so I'm still trying to fine tune my machine.

Any help will be greatly appreciated, because I'm not trying to waste good money on a my guessing.
I've got die grinders in air and electric power. I've got air grinders that are angle grinders and die grinders.

What are you trying to ask?

Steve

This will probably answer your question. A die grinder with a small burr will reach anywhere you need to go to remove spatter.

Steve
rickbreeezy
    Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:33 pm

Well, if you are reqiured to provide your own air and power tools, ideally, you would have enough tools to make your job as easy as possible.

But we all know how it is to have a tight budget.