General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
mikelove316
    Sun Oct 30, 2016 9:38 pm

Hello all !

So as a newbie welder I finally landed my first welding job outside my regular day job.
Is kind of a big deal because this first job sets the tone for the rest of my welding side hustle so I’m a little nervous but confident I can to it . The job is to weld up a new hitch attachment for a motorcycle rack that goes on the back of a car . My friend says that when he loads his bike up the weight of the bike drops it pretty low and it sometimes bottoms out while he’s driving around or if he goes over speed bumps it scraps the bottom . I told him I’d do it for free just for practice but he said he wouldn’t feel right taking it for free . So he will pay for the welding anyway any advice?
homeboy
    Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:52 pm

Personally as a "newbie welder" I wouldn't touch it. If this in in fact supporting the weight of the rack and motorcycle attached to the vehicle this is entirely different than welding something static vs. live loading. The live loading on something like this could far exceed the actual weight by many times with shock loading, bouncing over bumps etc. Liability is a huge issue. Detatched motorcycles and carriers bouncing thru windsheilds is frowned upon! By changing the mounting points there may be additional bracing /supports also required which will require some type of structural knowledge. :shock:
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Does he tow the bike "inline" with the vehicle, or parallel to the rear of the vehicle? If inline, he needs to worry about mechanical issues and your "trailer" lift needs to be stout to deal with the weight so far away from the receiver.