General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
andyb
    Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:49 pm

I am a beginning welder and will be doing hobby MIG welding - table legs, shop tables... What would be a good beginner welding table? I was looking at the:

Strong Hand FixturePoint table [http://stronghandtools.com/stronghandto ... turepoint/]

Certiflat fabblock tables [https://weldtables.com/collections/fabb ... ding-table]

Or just getting a piece of 1/2" plate and making my own.

Any suggestions? I like that the Fixturepoint and fabblock tables have holes drilled already.
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Welcome Mate.

Super quality tables are nice, and no doubt really good. But in the big scheme of things, until you move on to very high quality accurate products, a ordinary steel plate table will do you just fine. It's almost a rite of passage to build your own table anyway. Plus, the strong hand table and the like are more about repeatability and speed. So for one off's in your garage, even if it needs to be super accurate, a plate table is fine. Invest that money in actual tools and welding consumables. You can never have enough of that stuff.

Regards, Mick
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

I do most of my welding on a table that has a top that’s only 3/16. If you have extra money to burn or a spacific need for super flat or extra heavy duty then thick tops are great. At work most stuff is welded on stands and or saw horses, then you just get one of those plastic roller carts to keep your tools close.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
    Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:00 am

Make a table, the learning experience is unbeatable. I have made two: one is sit down height, 30 inch x 30 inch, the other is stand up height, 3 x 5 foot
20170205_205601.jpg
20170205_205601.jpg (49.39 KiB) Viewed 3847 times
20170806_145804.jpg
20170806_145804.jpg (78.42 KiB) Viewed 3847 times
Multimatic 255
Bradk
    Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:09 am

Andy,