General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
    Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:52 am

Hey folks,

I have a pretty general welding question about body positioning and breathing habits while welding in different positions. For example I'd like to hear from you all how you deal with breathing smoothly to keep yourself comfortable while heavily focused on the puddle, while perhaps:standing up tig, one handed stick, two handed stick, etc, vs sitting down.

I would like to use myself as an example since I am a beginner and probably have some bad habits and would like to readjust them appropriately. To begin, I mainly have experience with stick welding, but I am also learning to tig weld. I am mainly standing while I am doing it. I have a scrap metal welding practice stand I made out of .5in square bar stock to tack pieces onto for padding beads. The stand is a bit wobbly if you don't let it settle or hold it with one hand.

1G: I find that the pinky thumb technique that Jody has shown really works well for me. I can cleanly weld one handed as well in 1G and breathing and staying relaxed isn't a big issue. My hands and arms are relatively in the same place other than maybe shuffling feet. 1G isn't really an issue.