General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
finewoods
    Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:42 pm

Hi fellas,

I've had a woodworking shop for 35 years but never did any serious metal work except for sharpening tools, making shaper cutters, etc. I bought a little stick welder to help assemble a stand for my dust collector when I first opened my shop, but it hasn't been used since. My home was burglarized 7 years ago, so I studied up on MIG welding and bought a Hobart Handler 175 to make my own burglar bars, porch enclosures, and gates. That all turned out great--when my adult daughter first saw it she said, "It looks like a jail!" :D