General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
GordyBrewster
    Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:20 am

Hello All,

I am a maintenance technician at an industrial factory, and a novice welder. Most of our welding is structural, and it's a rough and tumble operation. I wanted to gain some of the insight that is present in this forum regarding some information I have received from a fellow senior maintenance technician.

The gist of it is as follows: 6011 rods are more "flexible" than 7018's, and thus more useful in applications where vibration or torsion may be present. A 7018 is "harder," like a hardened tap compared to milder steel and more useful in abrasive situations.

While I am a novice, I am a good researcher, and I can't find any information to support this theory. The 7018's seem to be the backbone of structural welding, and while 6011/10's have their uses, the 7018 is stronger and more crack resistant.

Would any of you more experienced welders out there be able to set me straight on this issue? Most of the people I could have brought this question to locally in the past have gone , and it seems like this community is as good as any in regards to good information.

Thank you for your time and consideration.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Gordy,

Unfortunately they have it backwards for those qualitie of 6011 and 7018. Not only is 7018 just a smidge stronger in Tensile strenghth, it has higher "Charpy-V Notch" ratings. Quite simply it means that, when welded correctly as a low-hydrogen rod, a specimen welded with 7018, under specific test conditions, can withstand larger energy impacts (on the opposite side of a specified V-notch ground into the piece) before fracture/failure, than an identical specimen welded with 6011 would. Not sure how you arrived at your theory, but at least now you can rest assured they're on the correct path of enlightenment.

Lincoln SMAW Guide. Page 38-44