General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
Johnny T
    Sun Nov 01, 2020 2:39 am

I'm a beginner welder working at a shipping container repair firm, that's where I've been receiving my training or what passes for it :D

I've only really started doing a lot of welding the last couple of months, mainly on 2-4mm steel using a mig welder between 16-19 volts.

I have been using an auto darkening helmet provided by the company the settings were set to lowest on sensitivity and delay and the lens set to 9, a magnifying lens was put in as well as I was having trouble keeping my weld going in a straight line from not being able to make out much, which resolved that problem greatly, I'm not sure what magnification the lens is.

The last 6 weeks I'd been experiencing sore itchy eyes and went to the doc who said eye infection but have done two courses of eye drops for it with not much change, the last couple of weeks I've noticed a sudden reduction of eyesight. I allready wear prescription glasses but I could read writing without them at my last eye exam 8 months ago, now i can't (even larger writing) and have noticed a spot of difficulty even with them on.

I've booked in to see an optometrist this week (I'm pretty sure I should have done this sooner :D ) In my mind I'm pretty sure this is connected to the welding and possibly the gas cutting (the visor provided for this doesn't seem to have that much of a tint to it) but I suppose I could be wrong, anyone have any thoughts?
BillE.Dee
    Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:53 pm

hi Johnny. Have you used the auto darks before? You might be suffering from being flashed due to the auto dark not seeing the arc OR not working properly due to improper sensitivity adjustment or not working at all which will cause eye strain without doubt. Also, the use of the "cheater" with prescription lenses will throw off the vision. There are several threads in here about auto dark hoods works and failures.