General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
completenoob
    Mon Jan 18, 2021 7:06 am

hi everyone :)

i'm a guitar builder and am thinking of picking up welding to create truss rods for my guitars. A truss rod is a device that is built into the neck of a guitar under the fretboard to counteract string tension and control/remove up- and back-bow of the neck. Here is a simplified diagram of the principle: Image.

It's a pretty simple device and the problem i have is that i need specific lengths and adjustment screws and i'm tired having to adapt my builds to what is available on the market. Being able to make my own truss rods to MY specs would be awesome .. and of course more economical.

One of the most promising materials i've tried so far is Titanium on steel since the titanium truss rods weigh only half as much as the steel ones (which is important for the balance of the final instrument), but unfortunately there is only one variant available on the market as of today (made in Japan i think) and once again i can't find it with the right length and adjustment screw. The other reason i would like to make my own titanium truss rods is the price, these retail for around 45€/USD a piece which is a lot considering the base material cost of less than 5€. I've asked around here where i live if someone could make custom rods for me but welders are either not interested in such a small job or are asking for a lot of money (which i understand but just isn't workable for me).

I've been reading up and watching youtube about welding to get a basic understanding but am overwhelmed by the amount of information and different options.

So i was wondering if some of you could help me identify what kind of welding would be most apropriate to do these tiny welds.