General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
BastiColler
    Sat Jun 05, 2021 10:29 am

I have had no other luck getting info from people. So I am an artist and I really love working in metal. I took a couple of welding/fabrication/casting classes back in college and want to continue doing metal work. I have been looking into getting some TIG equipment, but I am unsure exactly what to get. I have been looking at Miller and Lincoln products, but I can't tell what features would be something I would use, versus some that are more for professionals. Any insight? I have a budget of a few thousand bucks. Thanks10.0.0.0.1 192.168.1.254
Last edited by BastiColler on Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
BillE.Dee
    Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:53 pm

DEcide what kind of metal you will be working with and have a look at some of the various videos presented by Jody and the other folks who do TIG welding. They will make adjustments on various "bells and whistles" that are part of the welders available. The more bells and whistles, the more adjustments will be needed to make things work together and the more "money" will have to be spent. Buying a new style welder is like buying a computer ... right when you think you have the best, along comes next week and there is new technology stuffed into the box. It will have to be YOUR decision that makes YOU happy. It takes lots practice and patience and patience and practice. All the best...keep us posted.
gramps
Spartan
    Fri Mar 06, 2020 8:59 pm