General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
drizzit1aa
    Tue Oct 05, 2021 8:57 pm

First up, I am just being dumb? I have never heard of anyone TIG welding galvanized steel. Secondly, I have a customer that has done thousands of these before I showed up, they said for 30 years to be exact. What is the purpose of not adjusting their laser program to actually fit the radiused profile? Once I fit the first one up and saw it I texted them and asked if it was normal and should I continue, I got a reply of "yes it's normal".
IMG_2824.jpg
IMG_2824.jpg (841.31 KiB) Viewed 1515 times
Last edited by drizzit1aa on Wed Mar 02, 2022 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

i'm only a hobbyist and even to me thats manky.
sounds like customer just doesn't give a crap.

welding galv is a pita.even after cleaning it off i find a bit i missed and it pops and splatters all the over the gas lens screen.
highly recommend ck gas savers that have the replaceable screens for dirty work.
maybe have a quick grind setup to take a bit of the galv off around the edge.
tweak it until it breaks
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

You need to grind off the galvanizing top, bottom and edges of areas will you will weld. This ensures you aren’t vaporizing the zinc and inhaling that, and for TIG welds especially, getting to clean, parent metal is necessary for good long term welds.

If the fit-up is wonky due to their cuts, that’s life. You might try to tack directly in the middle of the arc to help keep the alignment flush.
drizzit1aa
    Tue Oct 05, 2021 8:57 pm

cj737 wrote: Wed Mar 02, 2022 8:42 am You need to grind off the galvanizing top, bottom and edges of areas will you will weld. This ensures you aren’t vaporizing the zinc and inhaling that, and for TIG welds especially, getting to clean, parent metal is necessary for good long term welds.