General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
LarryL
    Sat Dec 31, 2022 3:40 pm

I'm not a professional welder but have been welding off and on for many years. Lately as I've gotten older, now 80, Ifind that I'm having a harder time seeing the weld pool clearly. Most of my welding these days has been mIG on mild steel, but also some TIG on aluminum. I have a couple of self darkening helmets and have tried various settings on both without any luck. I'm wondering if there are helmets that are better at blocking UV while still passing enough spectrum to make viewing better?
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

First thing I’d suggest is a “cheater lens” if you aren’t yet using one. As we age, our eyes collect less light in general. If you’re struggling for focus, your pupils are bouncing around with their dilation, further hindering light gathering.

Many models of modern helmets have switched to a blue light lens and definitely offer larger viewing apertures and better light filtering when welding. You’ll spend above $200 for a high quality helmet with modern features, so that may impact your choice.

Another thing to pay attention to is background ambient light. If there is light reflecting into your helmet from behind, it can adversely effect the sensors.
    Sat May 24, 2014 5:55 pm