General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
jime46
    Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:56 am

I'm a hobby welder and purchased one of the Northern Tool self darkening helmets based on the recommendation on this site. I have been extremely pleased with it for stick and MIG welding, but am having a problem with some TIG work I'm trying to do. I'm welding some fairly thin steel and have the machine set accordingly. The problem is that, apparently, the intensity of the light put out by the arc is not sufficient for the helmet as I'm getting a lot of flashing. I have tried various helmet settings and either get the flashing or a condition where the helmet won't lighten at all. Am I expecting too much from this helmet or just not setting it correctly?

Jim
gnabgib
    Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:55 am

If it has a control for sensitivity then set it onto high.
rickbreezy
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:08 pm

Mine does the same thing. When you set the sensitivitey on high, it picks up the low amp tig right? but it also picks up ambient light from your enviornment, cuasing it to darken before welding. This effetivley turns it into fixed shade welding helmet. Sometimes if I shake my head like an angry dog, the helmet will flicker bck to shade 3 for a few seconds, giving enough time to start welding. Stupid looking, but it works. can you adjust the lighting in your area? becuase thats the culprit.

-rick
jakeru
    Sun Apr 25, 2010 3:30 pm

Try putting your helmet outside on a sunny day, facing the direct sun for 4 hours. Some auto-darkening welding helmets are solar powered, and others have battery power. Solar powered ones need to be charged new out of the box, or when they've been kept stored in the dark for a long time. Charging my brother's harbor freight auto-darkening helmet cured its erratic flashing misbehavior.
Ultralow787
    Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:30 pm