General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
gkent
    Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:23 am

I'm about to pull the trigger on a tig welder. The plan is to tig a wide range of steel up to 3/16" max and aluminum usually in the 1/8" range.

Not currently being a tig welder I've been reading a lot and watching a lot of videos to get a better understanding of what the various machine features do. As well, price is important as I don't make a living doing this.

That said, I've pretty much settled on an Everlast 250EX ... HOWEVER ... for about the same money I've found a used Lincoln Powertig 225.

Everlast are very good at listing ALL the specs and functionality of their machines. Lincoln, not so much.

So I'm looking for some input here.
What does one have that the other doesn't i.e. does the Lincoln have 2t/4t ?
Which would you go for - used Lincoln or new Everlast?

Space and weight or not an issue so let's leave size out of it.

Thanks,
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome!!!!
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

Do you mean precision tig 225?

Here is a manual from the Lincoln site
http://www.lincolnelectric.com/assets/s ... /im895.pdf
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc
Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.
gkent
    Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:23 am

Yes, "precision tig 225"

Looking for some opinions.
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

If you want opinions...

One thing Lincoln has, that Everlast does not, is a long track record of quality machines. :D

I'd buy a used Lincoln or Miller in good condition over a new Everlast any day.
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc