General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
RichardH
    Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:45 pm

Does anybody here use their table saw as a welding table?

I'm a lifelong woodworker who's finally getting into welding, and I'm trying to figure out how to overlap space. My wife isn't keen on me taking over the whole garage. Yet. ;)

The shop is a 3rd-car bay in my garage, and it's fairly cozy (as in full); when I've got a larger project, I roll out the cars and triple the "shop". I've got a cabinet-style table saw with a large cast-iron top that seems like a good candidate to double as a welding table. All metal, no plastics; seems safe for heat.

I was thinking that I'd lay a sheet of steel on top when I'm welding - maybe around 12 gauge. That'll keep the spatter off the table saw, and give me a place to tack things down, etc. Roll up the garage door for ventilation when I weld (probably need a welding curtain to keep from flashing the neighbors).

Is this is good idea, or am I overlooking some big issue? Clearly, I've got to keep the area clear of wood and sawdust (including the trap in the saw base).

Thanks,
Richard
Grinding discs... still my #1 consumable!
    Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:22 am

Be careful with cutting and grinding. My chop saw is the only thing started a fire on me cause it throws alot of sparks. With welding the sparks are contained to a much smaller area. One of the first things I would do personally is build a metal work table. Spatter and sparks hitting you nice woodworking equipment might not be the best thing but you can always do woodwork on a cold metal table.
Nick
    Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:06 pm