General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
Tim
  • Tim
    Sun Aug 01, 2010 1:03 pm

Hello All,
Hi guys and any gals. I'm new to the forum. I just picked up a Lincoln Precision TIG 225. I was googling around and I saw the tig aluminum training video. That was great. I need to do that for I'm guessing 40 hours or so to get the hang of it. (I have been using a Henrob oxy/acet torch for the last 20 years and there is a lot of things to learn about that too. You dont just pick it up and get great welds.)

I want to build a welding area in the garage that can be dedicated to practicing and to small tig projects. I was thinking I could frame the ceiling and walls with thin steel and put a fan on top that would suck fumes to the outside. That would take of sparks and fumes. I cant think of anything else other than to build a 40x40 shop and put the thing right in the middle.

Any suggestions on how to do that?
- Airflow (like a kitchen range hood motor, or maybe a small attic fan) with a 6" or a 12" diameter pipe?
- Size (4ft wide x 3ft deep)?
- Tabletop - 1/16" steel sheet over pressed 3/4" pressed board or ?

This is probably one of those questions that people wont want to comment on because of liabilty reasons. :shock:

I appreciate any comments.

Thanks
Tim
ogorir
    Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:04 pm

well, if you're only doing OA and tig, ventilation isn't as big of a deal. for tig, you really want to minimize the amount of draft in the room, or you'll lose your shielding. if you're planning on doing MIG or stick later, or plan on welding lots of conduit or other galvanized, then I'd look into a fume hood or a general exhaust fan for your shop/garage. you don't need a ton of movement, especially 'cause even with ventilation, you should still wear a respirator for welding on galvanized.

also, tig doesn't make sparks. if it does, you're doing something HORRIBLY wrong.