General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

I have a strong interest in the dying art of forge welding and blacksmithing. I do not know very much about either one, I guess you can call me a noob on this subject, but have been looking into building a forge for about a year. So here is a shout out to anyone who has a interest or has a forge and wants to share some tips and tricks. Anyone here forge weld or do any ornamental blacksmithing?
To start I am going to build a gas fired forge, starting this weekend, following these basic plans;
http://www.arscives.com/bladesign/forge.tutorial.htm
The main reason I like this one is it is inexpensive and can be made by anyone, even with basic skills. I also have a air tank laying around so this will be perfect.
Also will start a coal fired forge at the beginning of the week, which should be sweet. I would like some pictures/prints for ideas.
Since I am just beginning their will be a lot of tooling that will need to be made, so there will be a lot of welding and fab work on this project. I do not have a anvil, but am thinking of fabricating my own. I have seen some interesting ideas on making your own. My ultimate goal, a long while down the road, is to make a sword.
Follow along as I make my forges and I will be posting pictures as it progresses.
-Jonathan
Wes917
    Fri Oct 25, 2013 11:45 pm

The design looks functional and simple enough, but I would think it will be expensive to use propane. Have you looked into building a brake drum forge? You can get a large truck brake drum pretty cheap. Anyway whichever way you go post up pics so we can follow along.

Yes propane (especially right now) is probably not the cheapest option, but keep in mind this is for hobbyist use only. One benefit of propane is I don't have to get a coal fire going if I just want to go out to the garage and play.