General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
Boycie
    Sat Nov 01, 2014 5:55 am

Hi Folks

I've just bought a used 160amp Tig welder. The welder came with a WP9F torch which is rated to 125amp. I was thinking of getting a WP17 but the welder doesn't take a foot pedal, and the torch uses a 2 pin female socket for the hand switch.

Q. Can I just buy any WP17 torch with a hand switch and put a 2 pin female socket on the end, or am I limited to the ones on the bay?

One thing I've found when looking at torches with switches is they don't give any info on the connector?

Please forgive me if this sounds like a dumb question but I am new to TIG welding.

Thanks for any help

Boycie
    Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:49 am

Since you are from UK I would recommend you to look at Parweld torches http://www.parweld.co.uk/product-catego ... g-torches/

I have their 9- 20- and 26-torch. You can easily put on the connector that fits your welder to any of them.
Boycie

Thanks very much your reply,

It's funny you should mention the Parweld torches as those were the ones I was looking at.

As stated in my previous post they don't say what switch connector comes with them (if any) so I take it I you have to buy your own for Parweld torches?
noddybrian
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:13 pm