General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
blaw012
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:48 pm

I have been welding for a couple of months now with a standard fixed shape helment, and I am looking to purchase a autodarkening helment. I have looked at some cheaper ones, but I haven't heard good things about them. I have also heard from older welders that the whole idea is junk. Any comments I am just unsure which way to go.
ironboy
    Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:33 pm

I'm a new member but have been welding for 7 years and I own both an auto and fixed helmet. I love the auto one its a cheap 50$ one my wife bought me at harbor frieght you should check it out
blaw012

I have seen the Harbor Freight helments but have heard mixed reviews about them. Has anyone had any experience with the miller helment or speedglas. What is the different between the miller helments is it protection or just bells and whistles?
Thanks
erector1
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:23 pm

I do alot of field welding alot of out of position stuff. my hood of choice is the miller digital elite autodarkeninghood aout$350. its a greathood. however in some instances the sensors can become blocked preventing the hood from darkening for this i keep my good ole fashion jackson fixed shade hood.
blaw012

I have looked at the miller helments and I like them a lot, but what is the difference between to elite the hobbist etc.
erector1
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:23 pm

THE hobiest has less range of shades the elite i have has shades 8-13 as well as a cut mode and a grind mode,also an x mode.its allpush button with a digital read out as well as memory for the various modes
rickbreezy
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:08 pm