General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
    Fri May 27, 2016 11:00 am

Hi guys,
I'm just wondering how you guys landed your first TIG welding job because that is what I want to do for a living. Most of the ads that I see online ask for many years of professional experience, which I do not have. What I do know is this: many professionals do not make welds that are as pretty as mine (probably because they're in a hurry and it's good enough for what they're doing at the time). I'm not saying that I'm any kind of mac daddy but most of my welds look alright. I do think that my skills are getting to the point where I should be getting paid to do this. Your opinion may differ.

I guess that what I'm really wanting is advice on how to get my foot in the door. I'm not too keen on stick and mig welding because they aren't nearly as much fun as TIG and tend to be geared more toward production. Monotony kills my interest in just about anything.

Any tips on how to go about this would be greatly appreciated.
Raymond
Attachments
Saddle weld on 3/4" gas pipe (125 amps).
Saddle weld on 3/4" gas pipe (125 amps).
20160527_110838.jpg (20.77 KiB) Viewed 1280 times
Thin to thick.....1/16" to 1/8" aluminum (140 amps). I did blow through one of the sides of the thin tube on this weld.
Thin to thick.....1/16" to 1/8" aluminum (140 amps). I did blow through one of the sides of the thin tube on this weld.
20160527_110935.jpg (29.18 KiB) Viewed 1280 times
Raymond
Everlast PowerTIG 255EXT
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

My first TIG welding job was a stick/MIG welding/Mechanic Millwright job where I got the opportunity to learn TIG on the job.

Your mileage may vary...

Steve S