Ideas & suggestions for videos
moeffsen
    Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:11 am

Hi Jody,

I discovered the existance of your superb website way too late. It is absolutely awesome for a non-professional guy who enjoys welding (like me) and much appreciated!

Short introduction: I am a hobbyist welder who got taught basic TIG techniques during a 3-day workshop and pretty much selftaught everything else i know from being an formula SAE team member and having to do all the fabrication jobs. Most of the stuff was welding up various spaceframes and suspension parts, mostly made of 4130 (25CrMo4). For 4130 a filler rod called WCrMo1Si was used, mild steel was welded with a rod called FGMO.

Every now and then, the weld has blown out on me while cooling down. Can you please make a Video on this subject?
I understand that closing up a weld around some kind of tubing can cause this problem due to the air inside the tube expanding under heat. However, this problem has happened to me many times right in the middle of a weld where the gas inside the tube would have had lots of space to escape elsewhere. Cleaning the joint thoroughly with a wire brush and brake cleaner didn't help. After grinding out the faulty bit of weld and rewelding, the problem occured again, most of the time even worse. This has happened to me both on welding cold drawn seamless 4130 and mild steel tubing joints, as well as welding on brackets and tabs to such tubing.

Best regards from germany!
Carsten
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

Welcome, Carsten!

I recently had the experience of TIG welding on steel tube that was coated with zinc rustproofing inside and out. Although I cleaned the exterior to bright shiny steel, the zinc on the interior of the tube corrupted the weld and would boil out of the weld while cooling, creating porosity. Is this what you're seeing, and is it possible there is some contamination that you are not aware of?