Welder to welder, post your welding machines, accessories and consumables or items you're looking for. Please read and follow the rules when posting.
mike594
    Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:12 pm

Ok so I'm not a welder at present. I am a pro handyman and have been doing construction since I was a kid. I want to add welding to list of accomplishments. So my question to you all is, what type of welder should I get? My first job will be fixing my truck that has some rust holes in it. It does not pay to have the auto body shop do it because the age of the truck. Then it will be used for little jobs that i encounter. Maybe trailer repair, decorative stuff, a little aluminum stuff who knows? I was looking at the lincoln 180 duel and the miller millermatic 211 that comes with cart and spool gun for like $1440 with free shipping and $100 dollar rebate on ebay. I am open to suggestions. I will also be retiring in the next 8 years, so who knows maybe a couple of welding classes and start a new part time career?
Thanks
Mike
    Mon May 12, 2014 12:06 am

You might look at something like the Miller Multimatic 200. Since you are a handyman, this would give you MIG/DC-TIG/DC-Stick
Glen
Miller Dynasty 200DX - Millermatic 350P - Hypertherm Powermax 45 - Hobart Handler 150
mike594

Thank you for the suggestion Glen. I will investigate it.
Mike
    Sat Apr 26, 2014 8:42 am

You might Check out the thermal arc (now tweeco) 3 in 1 machines... They do mig, tig, (DC only) and stick. You can also add a spool gun for aluminum.
Adam's Got Skills
    Sun Aug 10, 2014 3:32 pm