Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
    Wed Jan 04, 2017 12:59 am

Hi Everyone,

I have spent some time recently reading through the various threads on this site, and I really like atmosphere. I figure this is probably a good forum to join and contribute to as time permits - as always, there is just never enough time!

Quick background, I'm a mechanical engineer who loves mountain biking and hobby machining. I have wanted to learn TIG for a long time now to build mountain bike frames, but only recently acquired some welding equipment. First project was a stand for my new lathe built with a Lincoln AC225C stick welder and 3/32" 6013 electrodes. Next up is learning to braze/fillet braze with the oxy-acetylene torch. Wouldn't you know it - welding is pretty fun too!

I can post pictures of the lathe stand soon if anyone is interested.

-Derek
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

Welcome to the forum. Always happy to check out any project.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
    Sun Oct 16, 2016 11:36 am

Welcome. Bike frames might take some real practice getting that stack of dimes look but you've probably got a leg up on most beginners given your background.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome, Derek,

It is a great atmosphere here. A group of friends and neighbors.

Since you've read around a bit, you've likely seen Zank's posts... He builds high-end custom bikes and would likely be a great source of advice for you. I don't think he builds mountain bikes, so you're not "the competition".

I also look forward to what you can contribute. In your reading, you may have noticed topics that could benefit from an engineer's perspective.

Steve S
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Derek, welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225