Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
Sylvain BZH
    Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:56 am

Hi everyone, I'm a french welder (and also pipefitter and welding coordinator but I love to much welding to stay in an office).

I'm passionated by welding and as I look at weldingtipsandtricks.com on youtube since many years, and as I've got a very very very important question to ask, I register myself on this forum because in USA and Canada you're better than us in Europe in SMAW welding pipes.

I've got a question about the polarity on the root pass during downhill welding on pipe with stickrod 6010.

My teacher told to me that we must, as with 7018, inverse the polarity for the root pass (DCEN so for the root pass and DCEP for fill and cap) but even he is a very bright welder, he did not work in pipeline welding.

But as I did not have enought time during my IWS certification (that I obtained) and my 2 monthes of welding in the workshop (I paied from myself 8 welding certificates), I'm at home this week, waiting for my new welding job, and I go to the "Institut de Soudure" of Strasbourg next Friday to pass my SMAW welding pipe certificate with 6010 rods full downhill welding. I even managed 6G full 7018.

For the fill and cap I'm good enough with 6010 but I've got big problems on root pass.

My prepartion is 2mm for the gap and 2 mm for the land. I weld the root pass with 70 amps with an 3,2 mm stickrod 6010 (electrode on negative). And on the bottom of the pipe I don't manage to finish the roo pass it is horrible. However I keep a very short arc.

But as we have got many CO2 maybe we don't need to inverse the polarity and so have every pass with the electrode on +. Or maybe I'm not bright...