Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
TominDallas
    Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:49 pm

I am not a professional welder, but I have welded professionally. I love welding. Been doing it all my life. I'm 53 and when I started I was in gradeschool. I have a Miller Syncrowave 200 and a Millermatic 211 MIG. The most difficult for me being TIG. I've done all processes of welding except for TIG until about two years ago when I got the machine. My problem being coordination between pedal and dipping the filler. TIG welding for me reminds me most of torch welding with half a dozen more variables. I can't walk and chew gum at the same time. I'm sure I'll eventually get passable... I'd like to follow along with everybody and add something if I have anything to add. Nice to meet you guys.
anthonyfawley
    Fri Apr 23, 2010 6:58 pm

Welcome :D
Wobulate
    Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:30 am

Hi Tom, Wobulate here,
I can understand your frustration, but I find getting into a relaxed state improves all aspects and motions of TIG welding. I to am new to TIG welding, and I am working hard to get both hands and my foot to operate in synch.

UPDATE, SUN 30-JAN-2011
Today I spent 4 hours running beads on 0.090" 6061-T6. I had a number of tests to run and a plan to get-er-done. I used 3/32 Pure Tungsten and 1/16 4043 filler rod. I ran edge beads, stacked beads, gap filler beads and filler-less cleaning beads. And, once again, if I would just keep the tungsten out of the puddle and the filler rod off the tungsten life would be much better. I used Pulse/no Pulse/Balanced/Unbalanced/1 PPS/2PPS/20 PPS/and pulsed the foot control. I had a great time learning, and discovered that I had purchased the right machine for me.