Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
paulnapper
    Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:23 pm

Good evening.

I am new to the metal fabrication and welding arena. I am a Technology Coordinator for a career center. I have been doing the IT thing for 20 plus years and it's work. Welding is totally a hobby nothing else and probably will not be making ch else. He allows me to reduce stress while creating or fixing something.

I am just starting so money and supplies are tight so I am starting out with some stuff from Harbor Freight. Ok I hope you have stopped laughing. I hope to learn and even maybe supply some knowledge someday.

Paul
From Fredericktown Ohio
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Paul, welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
Danylo66
    Thu Jun 16, 2016 1:16 am

Welcome to the Forum.
Harbour freight is what it is. I`m Here in Canada, we have a similar store called Princess auto.
Ive been to both stores, just be selective what you buy. The tig rods that i have purchased from Prinsess Auto work okay.
I know some You Tubers have done reviews on Harbour freight stuff, and found the mig wire not to be as good as a name brand. But I`m not bashing, for the price, you get to practice and the stuff will work.
Ive bought , and I was lucky to fine, a used Everlast 140st. Dc only tig/stick machine. No fancy options but Ive done so much with it. I think I paid $200 Canadian for it New it is about 350. CD.
For the extra few dollars Id recomend the Everlast 160. A friend bought it and I tried it. Nice 2 steps up from mine.
I think around 650 Canadian. $489 US.
There are other good inexpensive welders, these ones I have experince with.
Lots of screaming, crying and swearing while learning, but hey it relaxes me. LOL :lol: :lol: :lol:
paulnapper