Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
taydin
    Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:34 pm

Hi, I'm an electronics engineer and doing firmware development for living. Metalworking has been my hobby for quite a few years now.

Yesterday, my new miller TIG welder has just been delivered to my home shop today. I rushed out to get the necessary supplies for it so that I can experiment with it over the weekend. I'm mainly interested in aluminum and mild steel welding, so I got #6, #7, #8 nozzles, green, yellow, and red tungsten, 4043, 5356, and 70S6 filler rods. Came home, set up the machine, hooked up the gas bottle, sharpened my green tungsten, and at that point i realized that I didn't get the torch collet! Arrrgh ...

Guess I'll have to wait till monday to buy it and do my first arc strike :|
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Welcome. Do yourself a favor and grab this:
https://weldmongerstore.com/products/ti ... are-bundle
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
taydin

cj737 wrote:Welcome. Do yourself a favor and grab this:
https://weldmongerstore.com/products/ti ... are-bundle
Thanks for the suggestion, but I'm in Turkey, can only buy local cause of customs restrictions.

I looked for stores that were open today and found one that carried welding supplies. I did get a collet and a collet holder and went back to the shop. But while the collet holder can be screwed into the torch tip, the nozzle cannot be screwed onto the collet holder. Arrrgh again ...

The nozzle has a much larger diameter thread compared to the collet holder. And I also realized that the miller rep didn't send me the power cable for the water cooler ... Didn't get off to a good start, I hope things will be smooth once everything is sorted out.
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

Welcome aboard mate! What machine did you get?