Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
doleslie
    Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:53 pm

Front side of weld
Front side of weld
20171016_171220.jpg (27.55 KiB) Viewed 248 times
Hi.

This post has been revised to include an additonal picture and more detail.

My name is Dennis. I am relatively new to welding and I have been trying to learn TIG. I am having trouble with welding T-Joints in 18 gauge mild cold rolled steel. I currently am working at 60 amps using an Everlast 210 EXT. I have a couple of pictures of my latest weld (eeww!). I'm not sure what the problem is, turn down the current or speed up the travel.

I was using 3/32 rare earth electrode with a #6 gas cup, with about 12-15 CFH straight argon. I was welding from right to left.

Any and all comments would be appreciated. The attachment shows the back side of the weld (in reverse to match the front side). I don't know how to post the front side of the weld. I'll try a second post for that.
Attachments
Back side of weld (pic has been reversed to coincide with the front view)
Back side of weld (pic has been reversed to coincide with the front view)
2017-10-16 17.14.33.jpg (29.71 KiB) Viewed 248 times
Last edited by doleslie on Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dennis Leslie
Prescott Valley, AZ
Newerbie
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum, Dennis.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
KenK
    Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:44 am

Dennis:
Glad to meet you and again welcome to the forum.

First, I must say that I am also a newby to the art of TIG welding. Don't get frustrated it will come with practice but it will take practice.