It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:13 pm Advanced search

Help for dim vision welder like a video camera

Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.

Help for dim vision welder like a video camera

Postby PropanePaul » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:19 pm

Howdy Folks, PropanePaul here. I'm a 52 year old welder & learned my first welding process SMAW/Stick) in 9th grade High-school general mechanics. Learned Tig & Mig in the mid '90's. About 5 years ago my vision started to deteriorate due to diabetes. For a while add on magnifiers (from Tractor Supply) got me by. Now all I can see is a bright fuzzy ball which obscures the consumable electrode or Tungsten, puddle & metal junctions. However Jody, I have been watching many of your welding videos to remember my skills & techniques & learn new tips. One day I realized I see your videos Clearly! including the junction of the metals, the puddle & the electrode. I thought maybe a welding camera setup & monitor might work for me! What do all you folks think & what's available commercially as well. Thanks for your knowledge & help. I love the videos Jody. Thanks for doing all of those!
PropanePaul

Re: Help for dim vision welder like a video camera

Postby Poland308 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:27 am

Welcome Paul. What kind of welding hood do you currently use?
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Poland308
Weldmonger

Postby PropanePaul » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:34 pm

Hello Josh, I use a Sellstrom Phantom GTW adjustable automatic at work, and a HF automatic helmet at home. when activated they have a blue/grey tint (unless I dip the tungsten into the stainless puddle which turns the light thru the tint greenish! :oops!: ). I'm also using a 2.5 magnification flat lens just behind the front spatter shield. That used to help but a fuzzy ball is all I can see now. But all the weld tips videos are CLEAR on my computer monitor!