Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
brims
    Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:44 pm

I've been watching Jody's videos for several years now, I came across them when I decided I wanted to learn how to use the MIG and stick welders at work. I had watched videos from several content providers, but Jody's were the best I found.

I have a vehicle restoration coming up, soon I hope, in which I'll need to replace pieces of rusted out panels, or where someone previously put a whole in the firewall, etc. In my search for which process to use, I read more and more about TIG having welds that are easy to grind flat and easy to work with body work tools. So I'm pretty much set on purchasing a TIG machine and learning how to TIG weld. Like I said, I have some experience with stick and MIG, I've used an older Millermatic 212, a Maxstar 150S, and at home I've got a POS HF 70 amp AC stick welder which I bought for 1 small job I had, I needed a welder right then and there. I'm able to sort of weld with the HF unit, it's got a high/low switch 70/55 amps, so it's a real treat to work with.

I wanted to join here so I could ask questions when I need to and further my knowledge.
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum, Brims.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
brims

I've been reading everything I can about learning to TIG weld but haven't seen this idea proposed, it's possible I'm just not searching the right terms. Anyways, when I get a welder, since there are so many different actions to be performed would it be easier to do something like getting a torch switch and setting the machine to 4t and try out just melting a plate of steel in a stringer like pattern, then try it with filler once comfortable, then adding a pedal? Or am I just complicating the learning process more?
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm