Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
erfan223
    Wed Nov 29, 2017 4:31 pm

Good afternoon everyone,

I am completely new to welding. I am seeking to learn how to TIG weld as a hobby. I am looking forward to learning all I can about TIG welding! :D
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Welcome. I wold encourage you to start your welding learning program by working with 7018 Stick rods. Learning to watch the puddle, manipulate the rod, and weld in differing positions will be invaluable skills for TIG. Its cheaper too and an extremely important, valuable process. Plus, whatever TIG machine you buy, will also perform Stick welding functions.

Use 1/4" or thicker material to learn on, 3/32" 7018 rods. Learn to strike the arc, lay stringer beads, fillet welds, and run overlapping passes. Later, work on uphill and and "out of position" welds. Then when you get to TIG, you'll make good progress by understanding what you're seeing, and how to correct your mistakes.

Avoid attacking round tubing, pipe or crazy positions until you master the basics of flat welding. It's all building blocks of a time-based skill to weld well. And don't think for a moment that those welds you see on Instagram are anything but artwork performed by Superhuman Skilled Welders with years and years of practice and experience. They are exceptionally talented folks! ;)
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

erfan223 wrote:I am seeking to learn how to TIG weld as a hobby. I am looking forward to learning all I can about TIG welding!
Welcome to the forum! CJ737 has given good info and advice: stick welding is a good process to learn welding, and you can even convert a DC stick welder into a TIG welder if you want.

Have you found Jody's videos? They are a great way to learn about TIG (and stick, and MIG too). Do you have a machine, or access to a machine?
Dave
aka "RTFM"
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum.