It is currently Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:33 am Advanced search

Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.

Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Postby wes gable » Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:08 pm

Hi, I am new here but need some advice.

I just bought my first TIG machine 10 days ago, a Lincon Squarewave 200. We used it intermittently for a couple of days welding 1/8" stainless steel at 100 amps DC, until it went pop, LOUD (made me jump from 30 feet away). It tripped a 50 amp breaker and the machine showed no signs of life. So back to the dealer where I bought the machine, and got the standard line " machine's toast, out of the box defect, never heard of that before, your the only one that ever had this problem". But they happily refunded my money and sold me the Squarewave 200 out of their demo lab, for a bit of a discount, since I really needed a machine and that was the only one they had in the store. Got back to the shop, welded for a bit on the same above mentioned stainless steel project, and POP there went the second machine. Now we are like to stumped.

Things we have considered,
-Checked and double checked the set up of the machine, everything was done right according to the owners manual.
-Checked voltages at the wall, all OK. I have been running Millermatic 252 machines on this receptical for 2 years. This is the only receptical on the circuit.
-No evidence of a power surge since there were no other symptoms anywhere else on the property. All other equipment, computers, lights are fine. There was other stuff running at the time both machines went out .
-Called the electrician that wired the building 2 years ago and exhausted his ideas. I don't remember what all they were but he ended the call as puzzled as everyone else. He didn't actually do an in person visit.

So I am thinking maybe a defective run of machines is just hitting the market maybe? I did find an Amazon review from a dissatisfied customer that is having exactly the same distress on a machine purchased about 3 weeks ago, but have not found any other reviews or forum posts with a problem like this. Maybe I should keep my allegiance to the Blue......I have no doubt Lincoln is a great company but sometimes even great companies have problems.

Or do I need to dig into my power supply here at the shop looking for problems? I can't believe it's a wiring problem since it is isolated to one machine on one circuit......

Any ideas?
wes gable
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 6:15 pm
Location: northeast Ohio

Re: Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Postby cj737 » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:46 pm

How large a fuse is on that circuit? You should never run anything higher than the machine requires (like a 50 amp when your machine calls for a 30)
cj737
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Re: Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Postby MinnesotaDave » Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:26 pm

cj737 wrote:How large a fuse is on that circuit? You should never run anything higher than the machine requires (like a 50 amp when your machine calls for a 30)


I've often wondered why people recommend this for welders. Almost every tool in a shop is plugged in to a circuit larger than it needs. Same for almost everything in a house.

Electricians have told me that breakers are sized to protect the wiring, not equipment.
I'm not an electrician - and specifically, no offense is intended as I don't know the answer one way or the other.

For the OP, I'd sure have electrician and power company out to check what's going on. The circuit has been fine for a long time but this might be a new problem.

Make sure to duplicate conditions, like having the other equipment turn on and off while that circuit is under load.
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Airco 300 - Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc
Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.
User avatar
MinnesotaDave
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm
Location: Bemidji MN, U.S.A.

Re: Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Postby tweake » Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:53 pm

MinnesotaDave wrote:
Electricians have told me that breakers are sized to protect the wiring, not equipment.

correct. simply to stop the wire from melting and setting the place on fire.
tweak it until it breaks
tweake
Active Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Postby cj737 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:28 am

tweake wrote:
MinnesotaDave wrote:
Electricians have told me that breakers are sized to protect the wiring, not equipment.

correct. simply to stop the wire from melting and setting the place on fire.

The Master Electrician who wired my shop, has told me specifically the opposite. The breaker stops current to your device should it decide to go haywire and draw more amps than its rated for (up to 200 depending upon your service). True, the breaker also limits the current seen by the wiring, but its the device that draws current, not the wiring.
cj737
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Re: Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Postby tungstendipper » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:52 am

Bring in the electrician that wired it. You have a serious problem. Better yet, bring in a different electrician.
Lincoln MP 210, Lincoln Square Wave 200,
Everlast 210 EXT
Thermal Dynamics 25 Plasma cutter
3 old socks
tungstendipper
Workhorse
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:09 am

Re: Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Postby rahtreelimbs » Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:24 pm

Please keep us posted.
rahtreelimbs
Ace
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:39 pm

Re: Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Postby tweake » Mon Jan 08, 2018 12:31 am

cj737 wrote:
tweake wrote:
MinnesotaDave wrote:
Electricians have told me that breakers are sized to protect the wiring, not equipment.

correct. simply to stop the wire from melting and setting the place on fire.

The Master Electrician who wired my shop, has told me specifically the opposite. The breaker stops current to your device should it decide to go haywire and draw more amps than its rated for (up to 200 depending upon your service). True, the breaker also limits the current seen by the wiring, but its the device that draws current, not the wiring.


most devices have their own built in fuse for over current should the unit fault.
generally devices do not rely on the circuit breaker for protection. a 5 amp device can sit there all day arcing away on a 50 amp circuit breaker, it will most likely catch on fire before it trips the 50 amp.
tweak it until it breaks
tweake
Active Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Postby Poland308 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 12:56 am

I believe I have a 2005 electrical code book. If I remember correctly it’s contents are controlled by an entity Called the NFPA. National Fire Protection Association. They like to keep your wire from catching fire in your walls by protecting it with a circuit breaker.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Poland308
Weldmonger
 
Posts: 2371
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Squarewave 200 PROBLEMS!??

Postby wes gable » Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:56 am

Thanks for the input! I am planning to get the electrician out here in person asap. He has been a licensed sparky doing primarily commercial work in this county for about 30 years and has a very good name, very easy to work with.

My Lincoln dealer is also communicating with Lincoln although he hasn't gotten much out of them....

I will let you know what we figure out.
wes gable
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 6:15 pm
Location: northeast Ohio

Next

Return to Member Introductions