Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
300wby
    Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:01 pm

I have been on here for awhile now and haven't introduced myself apologies . I am currently a Chief Machinery technician in the US Coast Guard coming up on retirement in the next seventeen months. I have been acquiring equipment over the last eleven years in an effort to open a small machine and fabrication shop (Voisine Machine & Fabrication). I have a couple lathes and milling machines with a fair amount of tooling , several pedestal grinders, a seven inch metal shaper, a four foot box/pan brake, some hydraulic equipment for making and pressure testing hoses. I have been working on getting my welding equipment together as well currently I have a dynasty 200dx, millermatic passport plus with spool gun, ESAB fabricator 252i with spool gun, Hobart champion 16, two Lincoln tombstone AC welders, and thermal dynamic cut master 39 and 52. I will be looking at getting a CNC plasma table in the next two years. I am not certified in welding. My back ground is classes in high school and advanced steel and aluminum through the military. The military classes we did 1,2,3,4G on 3/8 coupons that where x-rayed using SMAW on steel and GMAW on aluminum. I have been doing a fair amount of studying over the years using media such as Modern welding, Arc magazine, and just about anything I can find on the web including WW and WT&T has been a valuable resource as well. I watch the videos religiously. I would like to say that I have also had a lot of arc time but being stationed on a ship for the last eight and half years has constrained me there. I plain on using my GI bill to take a small business and welding class at the local community college. I think that will help me not only starting the business but getting me ready to take the D1.1 cert test. I am happy to be here and look forward to reading all the valuable information that is pro